

Associated Students of Western Washington University Student Trustee Selection Committee Charge & Charter January October 2016

I. CHARGE	To recommend three to five (3-5) Student Trustee candidates to the AS Board of Directors for approval.
П. MEMBERSHIP	AS President or designee (Chair) Current Student Trustee AS Board Member- to be appointed by chair Two (2) Students at-large Associate Dean for Student Engagement /Director of Viking Union Facilities, Advisor (non-voting)
	No member can be an applicant for the Student Trustee position
HI. CHAIR	The Chairperson shall be the AS President, or designee. They shall convene the meetings, approve agendas, and preside at all meetings. The Vice- Chairperson shall be selected at the discretion of the committee and acts in the absence of the Chairperson.
IV. MEETINGS	Meetings shall be called by the Chair. The committee shall meet by the first full week of spring quarter, and all meetings shall be called with a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours notice
V. VOTING	In order for a motion to pass, it must obtain a majority of the legal votes cast. An abstention shall not count as a legal vote cast.
VI. QUORUM	A majority of the voting membership shall constitute a quorum. If a quorum is not present, the Chair will adjourn the meeting and reschedule to a new day and hour.
VII. SUBCOMMITTEES	In order to provide for coordination and direction, the committee may establish subcommittees as necessary. Unless otherwise noted, these groups shall follow the provisions of the committee with respect to procedure.
VIH. RULES OF OPERATION	The committee may adopt and amend rules of operation governing its operation by a majority vote of the committee, subject to review or approval by the AS Board of Directors.
IX. AMENDMENTS	This Charter may be amended by a majority vote of the AS Board of Directors^
X. REPORTAGE	This committee shall report to the AS Board of Directors through the AS President or designated Board member, who will approve and forward the final three to five (3-5) student nominees to the Governor of the State of Washington.